Stereotypes about being a Dyslexic High School Student

Stereotypes about being a Dyslexic High School Student

 

Being a student with dyslexia in a suburban school is a hard but I believe that it would be harder if I went to a city school because the teacher to student ratio is greater than at suburban schools meaning people like me with learning disorders have more one on one time with teachers. Having dyslexia is not a bad thing or a good thing it’s just me. I have always had it and it’s never going away so the only thing I can do is to live with it and live with the stereotypes that come with it. The biggest stereotype is that people with dyslexia have low IQ’s but actually we have normal and advance IQ’s. Also I’m not the only person in my family that is dyslexic. My father is dyslexic as well. I read that if you have dyslexia there is a 50% chance that your child will have it as well.

 

Being a High School student most people my age don’t really understand people with learning disorders. I have people that ask me real questions like what dyslexia is and what it does to my brain and then I have people that ask stupid and insulting questions like how can I read and how I’m a Junior. It makes me upset that dyslexia is not talked about openly in public. It’s like people are scared of it. There is 3 million noted cases of dyslexia every year just in the US and that means 10% ~ 15% of the US population is made up of people with dyslexia. To my surprise a lot of famous people we read about in history books were dyslexic. Albert Einstein, Thomas Edison, Winston Churchill, Henry Ford, Alexander Graham Bell, Leonardo da Vinci, Nikola Tesla, and Pablo Picasso were all dyslexic. Even more famous people in today’s media are dyslexic, including Tom Cruise (we also share the same birthday), Patrick Dempsey, Whoopi Goldberg, Caitlyn Jenner, Steve Jobs, Jay Leno, Ozzy Osbourne, Steven Spielberg, Channing Tatum, Mohammed Ali, Anderson Cooper, Walt Disney, Jennifer Aniston, Johnny Depp and many more.

 

What helped me a lot with my dyslexia is band and choir. Learning to read and count music just helped with my learning skills so much and it’s probably the main reason I’m taking advance classes today. My brain just loved the fact of actually creating something that was real and not just writing something down on a piece of paper. This is why I listen to music so much, because music is something I can feel and it’s easy for me to read and count to. I listen to violinist Lindsey Stirling just to count to the music she makes and it’s fun and relaxing to me. Most dyslexic people have something to do with the arts because it’s easier for us to understand than people without this disorder, but I can only speak for the dyslexic people.     


					
5 Comments Add yours

  1. BethCTech says:

    I like that you are brave enough to describe a condition that maybe few of your classmates have heard of before.

    Like

    1. soccer4620 says:

      Very well written. I like that you show how you are overcoming it with band and choir.

      Like

  2. krco18 says:

    I’ts really brave of you to do things & talk about them. This is very inspirational.

    Like

  3. krhs18 says:

    You have a lot of confidence to talk about your personal life…very brave! This blog post has been one of my favorites. Way to speak from your heart.

    Like

  4. freesoul18 says:

    I like how you have written about this because I feel like people with dyslexia can relate!

    Like

Leave a Reply

