20 Years of a Legend

The video game Tomb Raider has been a media favorite for the past twenty years. From finding lost cities in Peru to finding Thor’s harmer, Lara Croft has been the ultimate archeologist. I know writing this makes me a huge nerd but then again I don’t care, Lara Croft is a huge reason why I want to become an archeologist and she is one of my biggest role models.

Tomb Raider first came out in 1996 on the original PlayStation. I remember telling my parents that I was “sick” just to play as Lara and travel through Peru and drink some lemon tea. Lara was (and still is) so cool! Walking into caves with her iconic black oval glasses and her even more iconic dual pistols. Knocking down all the savage animals and the bad guys to bring honor to the Croft family once again. Even though I was little when I started to play Tomb Raider and most of the time I was scared out of my wits, I just love everything about these games. The fear, the excitement, the relieve when you finally finish a boss battle and the overwhelming sadness once you finish one of the eleven games (even if you played it a thousands times before).

Over the years Lara has gone through many changes. From different voice actors to the way she looks and even her personality. Don’t get me wrong the classic sarcastic Lara will always be my favorite but I really like Lara’s new personality in Tomb Raider 2013 and also in Rise of the Tomb Raider (2015). These two games changed Lara Croft forever. The creators changed everything about her. She is younger in these two games, she no longer has my beloved oval glasses and dual pistols, but the most important thing is that she is more serious in these games. She is more real, I guess you can say. Lara actually felt fear in these games. Like to me, personally, that is HUGE! These games have the most gore and are the most bloody out of the whole series but these details make it more real than fantasy.

Out of the games, the two movies, the hundreds of graphic novels and the never ending fan art, nothing can surpass the music. The music sets you up for everything. It sets you up to fight the evil Egyptian god Seth, sets you up to leave one of Lara’s friends trapped on a ship, sets you up to find Lara’s love interest, and it even sets you up to face a T-rex. The music will always be my favorite thing about these games. The music will always be a trademark for Lara Croft but it will also be a benchmark of my childhood.

I believe that I grew up with Lara, like she is a family member or a close friend, and I can’t wait for the next twenty years of the world’s greatest archeologist.

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. BethCTech says:

    Having a passion for something doesn’t make you a nerd, in my opinion, but rather someone who is living life to the fullest. My favorite line in this piece is when you describe how you were often scared as a child playing Lara. One suggestion-please include an attribution for your included artwork.

    Like

Leave a Reply

