Thanksgiving

Please brush off the fact that I am being so main stream when I’m writing this. I didn’t have anything else to write about, okay, gee. (Side note: William Brewster is in this painting. Ten points to your house of choice if you can find him. Knowledge is power kids.)  http://www.joyfulheart.com/thanksgiving/images/ferris-the-first-thanksgiving-1600×1025.jpg (This is the picture by the way.)

Thanksgiving is a time to reflect on what we are thankful for this past year and for eating…thanksgiving is mostly just eating to be honest. My family is very “special” when it comes to this holiday. Coming from a family that is just a bunch of cultures mixed together, I hear a lot of varying stories of the reason for this holiday around this time. The German/English/Irish/ pretty much all of Europe, part of my family has a very lovely story of the holiday. There story is pretty much quoted from a 4th grade American History book. The story on how the Pilgrims and the Indians became best friends when the Pilgrims landed on Plymouth Rock and how the Indians helped them during the winter blah blah so on and so on. And also the constant reminder that my ancestor, William Brewster, was the priest on the Mayflower. “Oh deary let me tell you the story on your great, great, great, great, great uncle.” “Sorry but I ha-” “He was the priest on the Mayflower. May he rest in peace blah blah so on and so on.” But there is also the story on how he might have the Holy Grail (This is probably why everyone in my family has 9 lives.) in his tomb so like that’s cool and I’m all down for the archeology and bones and stuff but the story kinda gets old after be told it a million times. (I’m looking at you dad.)

The Cherokee side of my family don’t really care that much about Thanksgiving. “I mean, hey, there is going to be food.” – A quote from my father. That’s pretty much how I feel about the whole holiday. (I’m not a good role model I know.) But whatever you do for Thanksgiving, I hope that you have fun and are safe and just remember, just one more day until you get to blow your paycheck on a 78% reduced TV.

Leave a Reply

