The ACT

On March 21, 2017, I took the ACT test. Well, the plus side is I didn’t die, but I’m pretty sure that I am never going into any college in the history of this great planet that we call Earth. It was just, um, how do I put this? It was H-A-R-D. Last night I studied 500 ACT flash cards that my aunt got me and were any of those questions on the test? Nope. But do you know what would have made the test easier and not as nerve-wracking? More time. You basically had 30 seconds for each question. (Who in their right mind?)

In my opinion the Reading section was the easiest out of the four test, BUT it was just so long. So long. All the stories together was, around, 3 chapters in a regular book. And why does there need to be two different sections for English and Reading? IT’S THE SAME THING. Why didn’t they take out Reading and put History? I’m pretty sure that in the past 12 years that I have been enrolled in school, I have been to, at least, one History class. (The History section would have saved me! I would have gotten a 30 something! History is my thing!)

Before we took the test, the whole Junior student body went to the commons to basically sign our soul away to Satan. Just filling out our information took two hours. So we are getting near to the end of the forms and there is this section that asks, “What Major would you like to be apart of?” (Or something like that.) And was like, “Well this is going to be easy that would be Arch- and they don’t have it on here.” They had gazillions and gazillions of majors but DID NOT have Archeology or anything close to it. I had to shade in “Undecided” even though I was not. But the greatest thing about this whole testing experience was when I was taking the test. I was reading a question from the Math section and the question was about Julia. Julia was an archeology student. (ARE. YOU. KIDDING. ME.)

Me: That’s it! That’s it! I’m done!

Sam: What? What’s wrong now?

Me: It’s just…I’m becoming a nun.

Sam: You always say that but I have yet seen it happen.

Me: *Sigh* I know.

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Chelsea says:

    Hey Avery!
    Chelsea here from Australia! Thanks for commenting on my post and sorry it took so long for me to get onto your blog! What does ACT stand for? 500 flash cards! Wow! I don’t have enough patience to do all that!
    See ya!
    Chelsea

    Like

    1. BethCTech says:

      It’s the “American College Test,” a placement test to get into college, and our Ohio lawmakers decided to have every junior in the state take it. Normally it is given only to students planning to go to college. As a teacher who was forced to proctor this four hour test, it was super painful.

      Like

  2. I love reading your blog post Jane! And I’m now terrified for the ACT since I’m taking it in April and everyone is complaining about it.

    Like

    1. cultureasite says:

      At first I didn’t know who this was and I was like “HOW DO THEY KNOW MY MIDDLE NAME?!” and I got scared but now I know who this is and… I’m still scared.

      Like

  3. BethCTech says:

    And anonymous A student who wrote this blog-it was again enjoyable to read. Thank you for an entertaining look at the student side of the ACT!

    Like

  4. Justin says:

    Hey Avery,
    Just like you I recently took the ACT (even though I’m a senior and somewhat behind), but the test was SUPER difficult, sadly we have to have these test in order to get into a college/ university, but I wish you luck and hopefully your test scores came back good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

